A New School

Well, my oldest son has started a new school.  So far so good!  After encountering disciplinary issues, academic issues, and other issues we won’t get into here we decided to look elsewhere.  Our journey finally brought us to Pathways.  It’s a private, Christian vo-tech school that just opened in our area.

My son decided to study Culinary Arts. The upside is that he’s learning to do things that will serve him well in the job market and in his personal life.  Believe me when I say that I don’t know of any girl past or present that would put up with his former sanitation habits.

The downside is that he’s trying to take over my kitchen again.  I let him try to cook dinner one night and it didn’t go well.  Despite frustrations all around, we all ate and were satisfied and lots of lessons were learned:

  1. Don’t assume that just because it’s a dish he’s cooked before that he is ready to cook on his own.
  2. We need guidelines as to what is really clean.
  3. Creative left overs are a good thing.

But most importantly, he has found a place that accepts him, that he looks forward to going to everyday, and that empowers him to believe in himself.  And that’s a good thing… that gives me hope!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] I shared in a previous post, my son started going to a new school for his junior year.  He’s studying culinary […]

    Reply

  2. It’s a blessing having Josh at Pathways Tech. We have so much to learn from one another.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

