Really? An author with autism?

My boy and I were in the library when we happened to see the book Born On A Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant by Daniel Tammett.

I told my son, “Hey, look that that book!  The author has autism.”

My son stopped in his tracks.  He looked at the book and picked it up.

“Do you like this?” he asked.

“Yes, I do.  I’ve read it.”

He proceeded to read the back of the book. He looked very thoughtful.

“I have that book, if you want to borrow it.”

“Oh.”

He put the book back, and we walked on out of the library.

“You know that you have autism, right?” I asked.

“Mmm hmmm.”

“You could write a book someday too, if you want, or do anything else you want to do.”

“I know!”

We have always been open about my sons’ autism in our home.  We figure that they are going to know that they are different somehow, and rather than shock them with the news we will just embrace the differences with humor and hope.

I am hopeful, because my son seems to believe in himself.  I hope that he continues as life changes throughout middle school, high school, and adulthood.

What are things you do to instill self confidence and hope in your kiddos,
“spectrum” or not?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Your son sounds like an inspiration just like that author. And you sound like a fabulous mother.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

