Middle School Madness

Middle school is underway for my middle guy. Madness explains what’s seemingly going on so far.

Sometimes I question: Do teachers and staff really read the IEP’s prior to the new school year? Should I just buckle down and cyber school my kid? Am I over reacting?

My answers to my questions: Maybe not.  Maybe so. Not this time.

After hearing from my son’s school several times the first week, it is obvious that he needs more support during this transition.

This is what I have been told by the school thus far:

He has as “high level” of need, and needs more support to get through the day. Duh.

After rereading the IEP, the case manager saw that my son had social stories to help him in certain situations.  And then the case manager asked me if she should have said social stories.

Ya think?

I was also asked when my son would have a TSS in school, since we are approved for one.

How should I know?  I don’t oversee that.  Last I heard the agency was short by 14 TSS’s and was still hiring.

Yes, it’s been a stressful beginning to middle school.  Top it off with more drama from the county medical assistance office and medicaid, and I’ve about had it.

However, this blog is supposed to be about finding the humor and hope in our lives affected by autism. I have resolved to not wallow in my anger.  I still believe that there is hope and humor in almost all situations.

Here are my glimmers of hope:

  • The first time my son was a “car rider” rather than a “bus rider,” his homeroom teacher (not a paraprofessional, therapist, or even a special ed teacher) walked him to the van to make sure he’d be safe. A regular ed teacher who cares– that gives me hope!
  • When I asked my son if he liked middle school, he didn’t blow me off.  Instead, he thought about it and said, “Sometimes.”  My son not totally writing off  school (just yet, anyway) gives me hope.  And his answer gave me a chuckle.
  • My son’s occupational therapist at school, who also had him in elementary school, is seemingly watching out for him. I’m hopeful and thankful that there is at least some continuity there.
  • After speaking to an educational advocate, I know I’m not over reacting.

So there it is.  I love my boy so much, and I want him to be successful.  I know that as long as we don’t give up there is hope.

 

 

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle Swartz on September 11, 2011 at 12:36 am

    Elizabeth-
    The TSS situation is frightening! The agencies can’t find people to do the work and when they do, unfortunately a lot of them don’t do much work. I’ve seen a lot sitting on their phones texting! I hope that they find a good one if your son needs one! I love to read your postings and love that u can find hope and humor through it all! Keep on keeping on!!!! You are an amazing woman!!!!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Michelle, for the encouragement! We have been so blessed with good TSS’s. We had the best TSS ever all lined up, but then he was pulled from our case to work with a client who was more severely affected by his autism and was aggressive toward others… all while being 6 feet 5 inches tall.

      Reply

  2. Hope springs eternal, isn’t that how it goes? Glad you have found some bright spots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

