Movin’ on: Transitions out the wazoo

End- of- the- school- year time means lots of transitions in our family, as it does in many others.  It’s not only the end of school and beginning of summer, but the end and beginning of other things, too.  We’re movin’ on.

My daughter “bridged” in Girl Scouts– movin’ on to the next stage.  (She has a “love-hate” relationship with GS.  It seems that she hates to go to the meetings but also hates to leave them.  So I’m guessing she loves it in between there somewhere.)

My son’s 5th grade party and graduation are  happening this week.  Movin’ on to middle school.

My other son’s job is going well.  He’s learning to be responsible as far as work goes.  He’s also learning about the benefits of sunblock… the hard way.  Ah, part of growing up.  Movin’ on to adulthood.

I have a job interview before the school year is out.  I’ll let you know how that goes.  I’m applying for a part time faculty position at a local college.  I’m excited but scared at the same time– as I am with any new venture!  I think I’d really enjoy teaching the night classes that they offer.  However, before I can get the job I have to figure out my 15-minute “mock class” to teach to my peers.  Sigh.

Movin’ on….

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’m sure you’ll be fantastic! Just be sure to overprepare in case you talk faster when you are in front of them. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. I have never had a hard time with transitions until I became an ASD mom, and transitions are equivalent to game plans, social stories, strategies, and convincing people who might not want to prepare for my kids to do so. Sometimes, they bring on panic attacks for me. I love summer, but transitioning the six year old into a summer that will include six weeks of “autism camp” changes my paradigm of “summer.” As the 14 year old preps to start high school, we have already met with the principal and guidance counselors to set up a game plan for his transition. The fun part: you never really know if any of the supports you set up are going to work out. Ugh.

    Good luck with the job! May it be everything you need it to be. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

