My boy takes care of me

So,  for the second time, I sprained my right ankle and bruised my left knee.

Yes, once again, a kid’s shoe was at the bottom of a step.  So I didn’t see it, stepped on it with said right foot, fell down on my left knee, and almost passed out from the pain. Then I gave a speech about the importance of putting away shoes as I laid on the floor.  I struggled to get up, then had to sit down because I was blacking out.

Same place, same scenario, for the second time.  Only this time I tripped over my daughter’s cowboy boots.  Last time it was my son’s sneakers.

But the bright side?  My boy noticed and tried to come to my rescue.

For the first time.

First, he ran out to the back yard and got my hubby. Then, he came to me, rubbed my arm, and said, “Awww, Mom, we have to get you to the hospital.”  I explained that it wasn’t that bad, that I was a pro and knew how to take care of my ankle and knee.  I gave a speech about putting away the darn shoes and then hobbled around finding the ace bandage while my husband got me an ice pack.

As I was elevating my foot (using the RICE method: Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation… very well known to me by now), Philip came and sat with me in the recliner.  He put his arm around me and rubbed my shoulder.

(Of course, I had to call to my husband and ask him to take a picture… so I could blog about this.  And then I had to erase the background to hide the mess, LOL.)

After cuddling for a while, Philip said, “I’ll be right back!” and went out of the room.

And indeed he was “right back,” with a plate of grapes and a cup of orange juice.  “I’ll help you feel better, mom.”

And he did.

It was a landmark day for us.  Not because it was the second third fourth time I’ve sprained my right ankle since we moved into this house 4 years ago, but because it was the first time my son gave me TLC verbally and physically.  He’s  just breaking stereotypes all over the place!

3 responses to this post.

  1. How awesome is that? He’s a very good son. Sorry about the ankle though but glad for the outcome.

    Reply

  2. He’s a gem! Hope the ankle get well soon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

