Autism and Alleluias

Struggling with my Christian faith has been a constant in my life.  You may have noticed that I am an ordained pastor, and for now I am taking a break.  I am wondering what my future holds.

So now there is a book that I just am “chomping at the bit,” as they would say in my native Oklahoma, to read.  It’s called Autism & Alleluias by Kathleen Deyer Bolduc.

I was so happy to meet Kathleen at my church in 2007.  She spoke at a “Mother to Mother Luncheon” for moms and caregivers of people with autism.  I had read her book His Name Is Joel: Searching for God in a Son’s Disability, in which she wrote about her search for a Christian community for her family, including her son who has autism.  I cried, I laughed, I sobbed, and I prayed my way though this book.  I couldn’t believe it when I heard that she was going to come to my town, to my church, to speak to me and my friends and other moms.

I was privileged to take Kathleen and her sister to dinner that night.  The flames of my dream of being a writer and public speaker were fanned!

At the time, I was actually on staff at my church, teaching about spiritual gifts, helping people find places to serve, and advocating for people with disabilities– after all, they have gifts and skills, too.  At the same time, I was becoming frustrated with my job and what I perceived as lack of forward movement.  I was lonely in my spiritual journey. Talking with Kathleen helped me to see that I wasn’t alone in my “loneliness” in my faith community.  I have talked with other people, Muslim, Jewish, Christian, who feel the same thing in their communities.

I ended up quitting my job not long after the luncheon.  I had several reasons, but the greatest was my frustration and loneliness.  I began to really evaluate my faith and what I perceived God telling me to do next.  I pulled back from my involvement at church, and took time to rest.

Last fall, I scheduled a session with a spiritual director, who helped me discern my passion and my longing.  I began blogging not long afterward.

I know now that my passion is for inclusion of people of all different abilities, not only in faith communities, but in life.  No more shunning or pigeon holing or discounting the gifts and talents of all people.  People with autism and all differences deserve to live out their purposes and passions in supportive communities, and to know, without a doubt, that they are valuable and precious.

I have been told that I am a “prophet,” that I am a pioneer and ground breaker in the Christian community.  Sometimes I want to throw in the towel. I struggle to let go of anger, fear, and to keep from isolating myself and my family in order to “protect” us from the stereotypes and the “well meaning” comments of others.

That’s why I choose to write about the “lighter” side– to keep my eyes on the prize, to not give up hope.  It’s like therapy for me.  I hope that my readers will not find me too much like “Pollyanna” or think that I have an easy life.  I am simply writing about the “alleluias” in my life, to keep me and my family going and to hopefully give hope to other families, not matter what their faith may be.

Thanks for reading. Now, I’m off to find Kathleen’s newest book.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I really enjoyed hearing her speak as well and also liked her book on special needs ministry. I have A&A and you are welcome to borrow it; I wrote about it briefly here.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth, I am honored to think that my words were such an encouragement! I just know that God is going to bless you richly in this passion for full inclusion of ALL God’s children!

    Reply

  3. I am so encouraged by this post!

    Reply

  4. Hi, I’m new to your blog and wanted to let you know I’m enjoying it. My three-year-old son was diagnosed last summer. I love reading blogs written by people who have older children with autism- it makes me realize that there will always be challenges but we also have a lot to look forward to!

    I’d love it if you stopped by my blog sometime- http://www.theaword1.blogspot.com

    “Autism and Alleluias” is on my (very long) list of autism books to read. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

