Welcome to the lighter side

Ahh, autism.

When my son was first diagnosed, I had a panic attack and then went into an anxious depression.  I believed all my dreams were dashed.  I wondered who this boy I called my son really was.  Previously I was afraid of people with differences or disabilities. Was he now one of “them”? I wondered, “What did I do to make my boy this way? How can I fix it?”

My stepson, who didn’t live with us at the time, had been diagnosed wih autism 6 months prior.  The day of my son’s diagnosis, my husband and I decided to stop trying to have more children. The very next day, I discovered I was pregnant.  I just knew it would be 3 out of 3 with autism and that I wouldn’t be able to cope.

It took me a few weeks to realize that my boy hadn’t changed.  He was still my son– my pride and joy and light of my life.  I dropped the self-blame, and set out to learn all I could about autism, and how to have a relationship with my son and raise him to live to his fullest potential.

About a year after his diagnosis, when my daughter was 6 months old, my stepson unexpectedly moved in with us.  I went from 1 to 3 children in 6 months, and two were on the autism spectrum!  I once again went through a period of extreme anxiety.

I don’t remember how long it took, but one day I saw the lighter side. I could either approach this with a sense of humor or drown in frustration and sorrow.

I chose the humorous approach.  Then came advocacy, social stories, educational journeys… and I approached them also with as much humor and lightness as I possibly could.

Humor and lightness are the approaches that work for me.  Yes, I still get frustrated, and yes, we still have our “moments”, however every day there is laughter in my house.

The goal of my blog is to share with you the ways I have found to lighten the load and brighten my days, and share what I have learned and continue to learn along the way.  Comments are welcome.  Thank you for stopping by!

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] blog is called Autism From the Lighter Side, and here’s an excerpt from her welcome post earlier this month: I don’t remember how long it took, but one day I saw the lighter side. I […]

    Reply

  2. Yup, anxiety. I am sitting here with the “elephant on my chest” right now. Convincing myself that I will not die if I go out to Kohl’s. I think you’ll find a blog to be particularly uplifting and freeing. I had a friend recently say to me, “Wow, until I saw you working with Max, I guess I did not realize how great you are with him.” I had taken these last few years as survival training… this is my life, how am I going to survive it without going stark-raving mad? Just recently, I have been granted the vision to see why all of this has happened. I have learned exponentially, and I am a teacher by trade, so I am supposed to be an “expert” on kids, right? 🙂

    I love your idea of finding the humor in it all. There are moments that are absolutely hysterical…when my husband and I look at each other and just burst out with laughter. It’s better than any therapy!

    Reply

  3. […] the “t” word? Granted, it took me a while to get to this place, as I mentioned in my first post.  I still do research in to causes, theories, treatments, but no longer at the expense of […]

    Reply

  4. […] a sudden thing.  We has just moved, and were still unpacking… and here he came.  (See my first post for more […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

